Skip to content

How to Cut a Pineapple [VIDEO]

November 10, 2010
Fresh Cut Pineapple

Fresh Cut Pineapple

Our family absolutely LOVES fresh fruit – the kids can’t get enough of it. We have a fruit bowl on the kitchen counter (bananas, pears, cantaloupe) and usually have a pineapple ripening.

One day my mom came over for a visit, and as we were chatting I grabbed a pineapple to start cutting it. My mom looked wistfully at me and remarked, “I wish I knew how to cut a pineapple.” All these years…and I didn’t realize she didn’t know how to cut a pineapple.

This “How to Cut a Pineapple” video is inspired by my mother. Mom, if you’re reading – go to the library (or better yet, come over) so you can watch the video on a high-speed connection.

This is also for everyone who’s looked longingly at pineapples in a grocery store – and passed them by. Don’t let the pineapple intimidate you!

  

Have you ever cut a pineapple?

Want to Strive Bean too? Subscribe to Striving Bean in a reader or via email.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 11:35 pm

    I noticed you are using Pampered Chef knives. Do you think the Pineapple Wedger from Pampered Chef would be smart? I know I love my Apple Wedger from them…

    http://www.pamperedchef.com/ordering/prod_details.tpc?prodId=26431&words=pineapple

    • November 10, 2010 11:47 pm

      Hi Kim – I’ve been cutting pineapples this way for years, not sure if I’d like a wedger or not! Funny – I have an apple wedger, but I don’t use it.

  2. November 11, 2010 12:13 am

    Nicely done! You made it look less intimidating and easy to do. As for the knife, I prefer Wustof over other knife makers. ;)

  3. November 11, 2010 12:26 am

    Thank you for sharing your tips on cutting pineapple. It always seemed too complicated, but you made it look so easy. Thank you!

  4. November 11, 2010 10:52 am

    My mouth is watering!

    In Peru, they then take the wasted pieces (rind and core) and boil them in water, then strain, to make pineapple juice.

    • November 11, 2010 9:05 pm

      Wow Sue – what a great idea. I feel like I’m wasting good stuff in the fall/winter (when I don’t usually compost), would love to hear more about how to make pineapple juice this way!

      • November 21, 2010 2:29 pm

        I think you’ll just have to experiment and taste-test. Add sugar and cinnamon at end, if desired.

  5. litamn permalink
    November 12, 2010 3:17 pm

    i bought a pineapple today!
    love,
    ‘wistful’ mamacita

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

