Skip to content

Bread – Why You Gotta Be Like That?

August 7, 2010
tags: ,

We’re in the dog days of summer. Yes – even in Minnesota it’s too hot to turn on the oven. This recent heat wave prompted me to pull out my beloved lil’ dynamo – The Breadman Pro bread machine.

I have a bright idea to make bean bread.  The thoughts behind this?  Loaded with protein and fiber – good for the whole family.  And cheaper to make your own highly nutritious bread at home. Good for our budget.

The reality of my experiment? Turns out it wasn’t such a bright idea after all, but instead a *bit* of a failure. I know it can be done – I’ve seen bean bread recipes out there, just not for the bread machine.

My biggest mistake-  too many ingredients in my off-the-cuff-making-it-up-as-I-go-along recipe. The bread was mushy on the inside, crispy on the outside. And wouldn’t you know, the instruction manual is very specific about putting in no more than 4 & 2/3 cups ingredients. I’m not big on reading manuals, so lesson learned.

This much is true – I don’t discourage easily when it comes to experimental cooking.

Breadman Bread Machine

My bread machine. Mocking me.

Anybody else a bread machine fan? What are your tips for bread machine success?

Want to Strive Bean too? Subscribe to Striving Bean in a reader or via email.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 6:17 pm

    Let me know when you get that recipe tweaked. I adore beans and bread. I don’t have a bread machine but that won’t stop me 🙂

  2. August 21, 2010 7:46 am

    I love my 15 year old bread machine. I have found that certain ingredients work better when added at last kneading cycle.

  3. Señora López permalink
    August 30, 2010 12:41 pm

    I hate bread machines —- only because I don’t have one. LOL. When I want to make bread, it’s so hard to find a recipe that doesn’t include throwing everything into a machine I don’t own! 😉

    Maybe someday.

    • August 30, 2010 7:30 pm

      Hi Señora López – you make a good point, ingredients are key for making bread. Bread baking in the summer is a crap shoot for me – I always have to wonder if the yeast is fresh. Bread making in the winter is a different story – it’s more appealing to me during that time of year.

Leave a Reply

