Skip to content

Thanksgiving Sesame Green Beans

November 21, 2010

 

Thanksgiving Sesame Green Beans

Thanksgiving Sesame Green Beans

You have the turkey, the stuffing, the cranberries, the potatoes, and the pumpkin pie all planned out.  But what about the green beans?

Do you love green bean casserole like I do, but don’t like the calories in that innocent looking dish?  Give this lighter and simpler recipe a try:  Thanksgiving Sesame Green Beans. And don’t save it for just Thanksgiving – this side dish is easy enough for any day.

You can sometimes find bags of fresh (not frozen) green beans in the produce section that say “steam in bag”.  I bought a bag and used it for this dish.

Thanksgiving Sesame Green Beans

Recipe by Striving Bean

Ingredients

  • Fresh green beans (not frozen). As many as you think you’ll need for your guests.
    Snap off ends of green beans.
  • 2 Tablespoons toasted sesame seeds (or toast your own from these instructions).
    Can add more if desired.
  • 2 Tablespoons sesame seed oil
  • Sea salt to taste

Directions

  1. Boil a pot of water, large enough for the green beans
  2. When water is boiling, carefully place green beans in pot
  3. Blanche (boil) green beans for 2 minutes.  This is to quickly soften the texture of green beans. Don’t skip this step.
  4. Drain green beans.
  5. Heat sesame oil in a pan, medium high heat.
  6. Place well-drained green beans in pan.
  7. Add sesame seeds and sea salt.
  8. Sautée for a few minutes.
  9. Serve warm.

Our family weighs in:

  • Everybody like this easy side dish, my husband especially.

Will you be making green beans for Thanksgiving?

Want to Strive Bean too? Subscribe to Striving Bean in a reader or via email.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 11:24 am

    These green beans look so delicious. I made some the other day with almond slivers. Yummy too!

  2. November 27, 2010 9:52 am

    Can you believe I have never seasoned them?! We eat our veggies steamed. When I make salad we don’t use salad dressing either. Everyone thinks we’re weird but I love the raw flavors.

    However, I know many don’t so I will try this dish the next time we make it for company. Thank you Micaela!

  3. November 27, 2010 9:55 am

    What a great alternative to the traditional green bean casserole that is heavy and probably too fatty. I have to try this recipe soon!

  4. November 27, 2010 11:22 am

    I love green beans. My fave vegetable. I usually make mine with fresh garlic and olive oil and it’s delish. Maybe I’ll add in sesame seeds for a nutty flavor. Thx for sharing.

  5. November 27, 2010 2:51 pm

    Wow…! That looks SO delicious. I am definitely trying this recipe this week. Thank you!

  6. November 27, 2010 2:51 pm

    Thanksgiving is so about the sides. I like lite veggies too, so I can save some room for the desserts.

  7. November 28, 2010 8:36 am

    What a unique flavorful way to prepare green beans! I will be trying soon. Gracias!

  8. November 29, 2010 1:20 pm

    String beans are one of my fave greens. Mm! Great recipe!

  9. November 29, 2010 1:21 pm

    Great Recipe! String beans are one of my fave green sides.

Leave a comment