Skip to content

Aebleskiver

December 4, 2010
tags:
Little Hand Reaching for Aebleskiver

Little Hand Reaching for Aebleskiver

Aebleskiver (pronounced EB-el-sku-wyr) is best likened to a spherical pancake with a  little delight inside – apple slice, jam, Nutella…let your foodie imagination run.

This morning I pulled out my Aunt Else’s Aebleskiver cast-iron pan and made us a breakfast treat.  Learning how to make aebleskiver takes a little patience.  My first attempt wasn’t too slick – there’s a certain technique using a skewer (you can also use a knitting needle) to turn the batter so it cooks on all sides.  Watch this great video to learn how hone your aeble – skills!

Aebleskiver Batter

Aebleskiver Batter in the pan


Aebleskiver cooking

Aebleskiver cooking

 

Close Up Aebleskiver

I like making aebleskiver at home because you can control the quality of the ingredients and the amount of fat (oil) in the pan. Such a fun breakfast or brunch treat!  Take a look at this homemade recipe for Aebleskiver batter: Danish Pancake Balls (Aebleskiver) from MyRecipes.com My kids prefer aebleskiver without the apple inside –  just plain with powdered sugar or with maple syrup.

Several months ago, I won this unique pan by participating in a fun and informative phone conference by Kitchen Wizard Mari on how to cook this Danish treat.   Aunt Else’s Aebleskiver didn’t ask me to write this post.  It’s purely my opinion and I really like their product.

Would you like to make Aeblskiver?  What would you put inside?

Want to Strive Bean too? Subscribe to Striving Bean in a reader or via email.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 12:33 pm

    OMG those look delicious! I had never heard of an Aebleskiver but now I want some!

  2. December 4, 2010 8:41 pm

    you had me at Nutella!!

  3. December 5, 2010 4:39 pm

    I’ve never heard of Aebleskiver but those looks absolutely yummy.

  4. December 6, 2010 3:49 pm

    Glad you enjoyed making Aebleskivers! Inspired by you, I pulled mine out — I made a ton during winter and spring, but it went to hibernation during the summer — and guess what, I forgot to oil the pan first, and they stuck really bad.

    Anyway, I love filling each skivers with different fillings, ex. cheeses, caramelized onions, sauteed mirepoix, mushrooms, chicken, tomato sauce, green onions, and combinations. Basically all the cooked leftover I have on hand. It’s like a game!

Leave a comment