Skip to content

Five Soups for Sickie

October 20, 2010
tags: ,
Tissues

Tissues Photo by | Chris |

I’ve been sick for a week, so luckily for me I’m in a unique position to talk about the variety of soups I’ve eaten these past few days.

I absolutely love homemade soup. And when it comes to canned soup I’m extremely picky. My kids?  They’re picky about soup in the opposite direction.  The only kind they’ll touch is canned cartoon-character chicken noodle soup. Someday they’ll outgrow this. I hope.

I didn’t push this hot-button-soup-issue with the kids this week.  Mommy didn’t have the strength.

Here are 5 soups I’ve eaten this past week. All noteworthy in their own right.  These soups are good for frugal meal (a side of crusty bread, a small wedge of cheese).  And they all provide comfort for the sick.

Five Soups for Sickie

 

Parsnips

Parsnips Photo by *clairity*

Roasted Parsnip and Apple Soup

In Minnesota, apple season is winding down and parsnip season is gearing up, so this is a great seasonal soup for the Upper Midwest.  The Apple and Parsnip soup I ate had a nice kick of ginger that gave the soup a medicinal quality.  But perhaps I’m stretching sentiment that a bit.

Take a gander at this lovely Roasted Parsnip and Apple Soup from Guilty Kitchen.  Now tell me – how could one resist the allure of a parsnip after seeing those beautiful photos?

Chicken Soup

Matzo Ball Chicken Soup Photo by The Gifted Photographer

Chicken Matzo Ball Soup

A Soups For Sickie list would not be complete without Matzo Ball Chicken Soup. Check out this recipe for Real Chicken Soup by Culinary Philosopher. Don’t let the photo of chicken feet in water freak you out.

Tomato Bisque

Tomato Bisque. Not Amy's Brand, but homemade. photo by Carmyarmyofme

Tomato Soup

Amy’s Organic Chunky Tomato Bisque is one of the few canned soups that I love. It has texture – chunky, just like the name says.

Lentil Soup

Lentil SoupPhoto by michael hilton

Lentil Soup

When you’re still sick…but you’re on the mend..but you’re not quite ready for full-on solids.  Take a look at Alton Brown’s Lentil Soup recipe.  Now I’ll have to find “freshly ground Grains of Paradise” for my spice rack.

Split Pea Soup

Split Pea Soup

Split Pea Soup

Another heartier soup for when you feel ready. Give this Vegetarian Split Pea Soup by 101 Cookbooks a try.  I have and can vouch for it.  Pretty tasty.

What are your favorite soups? Canned or homemade?

Want to Strive Bean too? Subscribe to Striving Bean in a reader or via email.

 

test test

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 11:00 pm

    I’m pretty much a Chicken Noodle Soup girl with lots of Saltine crackers. Here’s my homemade or semi homemade recipe: http://recipesbykim.blogspot.com/2008/02/homemade-chicken-noodle-soup.html

    I’ll occasionally have a Creamy Chicken Wild Rice Soup but I don’t have a recipe for that one 😦

  2. October 21, 2010 12:46 am

    I love me some matzo ball soup now. My wife likes that chicken / vegetable soup I make her. It’s basically all the vegetables I can find in the fridge with chicken added.

    Luis

    • October 22, 2010 8:54 am

      Hi Luis –
      Oh yes I agree about the matzo ball soup. My Mother-in-law makes it on occasion and it’s such a treat!

  3. October 21, 2010 9:39 am

    These soups look great, especially the roasted parsnip and apple! Gotta try it.

    Here’s another soup — BEAN soup that’s really quick and satisfying esp. if you have cooked beans on hand (like you do) or a can. I called it Cassoulet bec. I put some sausages, but essentially, it’s bean and green soup.
    http://kitchenwizardmari.com/2010/10/20/recipe-super-easy-heatlhy-cassoulet-with-vegetables/

    If you have sauteed mirepoix pre-made, your child can make it for you in the microwave.

    Hope you feel better soon.

    • October 22, 2010 8:56 am

      Thanks Mari for the great bean soup recipe! And parsnips seem like a forgotten vegetable, don’t they? We should cook more often with them!

  4. October 31, 2010 9:51 am

    Hope you feel better soon! I’ve been battling a bug lately too and soup always come to the rescue. 🙂

Leave a comment